Subscribe
Ag 2 Calendar
< << October 2017 > >>
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Market Hogs
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Events
Monday 10/24/2016
Wrap up work

Bellwork:

Tell me about the progress on last weeks work while i was gone.

Obj: SWBAT --> Finish Power Point/ ready to present. Finish textbook assignment. Turn in documentary notes.

Study for CDE Test

Tuesday 10/25/2016
CDE Testing

Bellwork: Land Lab Day for those not taking CDE Test. All others will need to go to Mr.B's Room for testing. 

Wednesday 10/26/2016
Swine Presentation

Bellwork: What is the most interesting fact about your swine breed?

Obj: SWBAT teach the class about the given swine breed

Thursday 10/27/2016
Swine Presentation

Bellwork:Give one fact about a Swine breed (Not your own)?

Obj: SWBAT teach the class about the given swine breed

Friday 10/28/2016
Finish presentation

Bellwork: Name that movie- "With great power comes great responsibility"

Obj: SWBAT Finish Presentations

Tuesday 11/1/2016
Finish presentation

Bellwork:From the Video yesterday who were the first people to celebrate Halloween

Obj: SWBAT Finsih Presentations on Pig Breeds

Wednesday 11/2/2016
Quiz/ Land Lab

Bellwork: Paper Out and labeled Pig Breed Quiz

Obj: SWBAT with accuracy finish pig breed quiz/ Land Lab Wed

Thursday 11/3/2016
District CDE Contest (SUB)

Sub Film "Ivy League Farmer"

 

Friday 11/4/2016
Ivy League Farmer

Bellwork: What is the main plot of the movie

Obj Finish Ivy League Farmer

Monday 11/7/2016
Swine Judging

Bellwork: From the parts of the swine worksheet....Label and define numbers 23-->26

Obj: SWBAT with accuracy properly judge a class of Market Hogs

Tuesday 11/8/2016
Livestock Eval SWINE

Bellwork: 2016 Class Poll

Obj: using correct terminology judge a class of market hogs

Wednesday 11/9/2016
Land Lab Wed
Thursday 11/10/2016
Livestock Eval (Sheep)

What is the name of the meat from sheep older than 1 year

Friday 11/11/2016
Veterans Day
Monday 11/14/2016
Livestock Eval (Sheep)

Bellwork: What is the name of a sheep under 1 year of age

Obj: list and define external anatomy of a sheep

Tuesday 11/15/2016
Livestock Eval (Sheep)

Bellwork: What is the name of a castrated male sheep?

Obj: list and define external anatomy of a sheep

Wednesday 11/16/2016
Land Lab Wed
Wednesday 11/23/2016
Thanksgiving break
Thursday 11/24/2016
Break
Thursday 11/24/2016
Thanksgiving break
Friday 11/25/2016
Break
Friday 11/25/2016
Thanksgiving break
Monday 11/28/2016
SUB

Fast Food that changed the world.

Whats your favorite fast food. 

Monday 11/28/2016
Sub (Fast Food Doc)
Wednesday 11/30/2016
Lamb Eval

What are you looking for when evaluating lambs for muscle?

Obj: Judge 3 classes of market lambs

Thursday 12/1/2016
Meat Sci

What did you eat for dinner last night? Meat? What kind?

Intro to Meat Sci

Friday 12/2/2016
Cookie Dough Sales/ AET

Friday Quote

"Great minds discuss ideas, Average minds discyss events, Small minds discuss people."

Monday 12/5/2016
Meat Sci (Beef)

What is the #1 used cattle slaughter device in the U.S

Obj: Humane beef slaughter process

Tuesday 12/6/2016
Meat Sci (Beef)

Explain the difference between large and small scale  processing

Obj: humane beef slaughter process

Wednesday 12/7/2016
Meat Sci (Beef)

Define Marbling and Finish

Obj: understand U.S Beef Quality and Yield Grading

Thursday 12/8/2016
market lambs

Market lamb juding

Friday 12/9/2016
Sub
Monday 12/12/2016
Meat Sci (Beef)

Bellwork: What was one take away from documentary film on Friday

Obj: SWBAT list Beef Primals and Subprimals 

Tuesday 12/13/2016
Meat Sci (Beef)

Bellwork: What are the four main retail Quality Grades?

Obj SWBAT: List all beef Sub primal's and the correlating primal's 

 

Tuesday 1/3/2017
Meat Sci (Pork)

Bellwork

-Name Three cuts of pork

Obj

-SWBAT discuss proper swine slaughter techniques 

Wednesday 1/4/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 1/5/2017
Meat Sci (Pork)

Bellwork:

- Name the two humane slaughter techniques used in the U.S for Hogs

Obj

-SWBAT list all pork Primal Subprimal and retail cuts of pork

Friday 1/6/2017
Meat Sci (Pork)

Bellwork:

-Name all Pork Primal Cuts

Obj

-SWBAT build educational poster board of the pork cuts

 

 

Monday 1/9/2017
Meat Sci (Pork)

Bellwork

-Canadian bacon comes from what Primal of the Swine

Objective: 

-SWBAT Finish Educational poster board

Update the AET record book

Study CDE Test Bank

Tuesday 1/10/2017
Meat Sci (Pork)

Bellwork:

-What are the sub order cuts of meat from a pork leg

Objective

-Finish educational Pork posters

Wednesday 1/11/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 1/12/2017
Quiz

Bellwork:

What is the three subprimals of the pork loin

Objective:

SWBAT finish Pork Cuts Quiz with accuracy 

Monday 1/16/2017
MLK DAY
Tuesday 1/17/2017
Meats (end of unit lesson)

Bellwork-

-What is the movie "American Meat" telling us?

OBJ

-SWBAT complete video

Create notes to help with final paper

Wednesday 1/18/2017
Land Lab (Wed)
Friday 1/20/2017
CDE Study Day

Friday Quote

"If an egg is broken by an outside force LIFE ENDS. If an egg is broken from an inside force LIFE BEGINS. Great things always start from the inside." -Jim Kwik

Obj- CDE Study Session

Monday 1/23/2017
CDE/ Meats Sci Paper

Bellwork

An Aggie Math Riddle......

Obj; Begin Meats Sci paper

Wednesday 1/25/2017
CDE/ Meats Sci Paper

Bellwork:

-How much of your rough draft is complete?

Obj:

CDE Study

work on meats paper (rough draft)

Monday 1/30/2017
Meats paper 1st draft due

Bellwork:

-get out 1st draft and prepare to be checked

Obj:

peer revision of 1st draft

Tuesday 1/31/2017
final draft work

Bellwork: 

-How would you decribe the best steak you have every ate??

Obj-

Work on final drafts (Due Friday 300 pts)

Wednesday 2/1/2017
Land Lab (Wed)
Monday 2/6/2017
Intro to plumbing

Team activity to discover our new unit.

Intro to plumbing

Tuesday 2/7/2017
Plumbing Presentation

Bellwork: When was the first water line used

Obj SWBAT create plumbing presentation on a given topic

Wednesday 2/8/2017
Land Lab (Wed)
Friday 2/10/2017
The AET update

"History will be kind to me for i intend to write it"

-Winston Churchill

Obj: SWBAT update AET Record Book

Monday 2/13/2017
Plumbing Presentation

Plumbing Presentations take out note sheet and be ready to present

Tuesday 2/14/2017
Land Lab Clean UP
Wednesday 2/15/2017
Land Lab Clean UP
Thursday 2/16/2017
(Sub) District CDE
Thursday 2/16/2017
Land Lab Clean UP

Land Lab Clean UP

Monday 3/13/2017
Spring Break
Tuesday 3/14/2017
Spring Break
Wednesday 3/15/2017
Spring Break
Thursday 3/16/2017
Spring Break
Friday 3/17/2017
Spring Break
Monday 3/20/2017
Plumbing Project Intro

Bellwork: How was your spring break? What did you do?

Obj: Mission--> Save the grapes--> Via plumbing

Tuesday 3/21/2017
Prep for chickens

Bellwork: About how many feet is in each row of the vineyard?

Obj: Prep for chicken delievery, continue vinyard project

Wednesday 3/22/2017
Land Lab (Wed)

Land Lab Day

Thursday 3/23/2017
Intro to Poultry

Bellwork: At what temperature do we want to keep our poultry brooder at for the first week?

Obj: Intro to the Poultry Industry

Friday 3/24/2017
Intro to Poultry

Bellwork: Friday Quote "Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point." -C.S Lewis

Obj: continue with intro to poultry lecture

Monday 3/27/2017
Poultry breeds

Bellwork: What two breeds when crossed create the Cornish Cross Meat Bird?

Obj: SWBAT create/complete educational poultry breed flyer

Tuesday 3/28/2017
History of Poultry Industry

Bellwork: Take 15 Minutes to finish educational poultry breed flyers

Obj: Understand the poultry industry and its evolution. 

Wednesday 3/29/2017
Land Lab (Wed)

Land Lab Day

Friday 3/31/2017
Vineyard Project

Friday Quote

"Oppertunities are usually disguised as hard work. So most people dont recognize them."

Obj; Continue to work on vineyard irrigation 

Monday 5/1/2017
Bench Project

Bellwork: Name 1 item that you learned from chapter 25 "Management of Poultry"

Obj: Continue working on bench re-model 

Thursday 5/4/2017
Verde Valley Fair (Sub)
Friday 5/5/2017
Verde Valley Fair (Sub)
Monday 5/8/2017
Egg Laying Hens

Bellwork: Give me one fact that you have learned from the video 

Obj: Complete Egg Layers worksheet. start prep for chicken processing.

Tuesday 5/9/2017
Prep For Chicken Processing

Create/Prep/Sanitize Chicken Processing equipment

Wednesday 5/10/2017
Chicken Processing

Final Project: Chicken Processing 

Thursday 5/11/2017
Processing clean uo

Must clean up land lab after processing. no folders. no bellwork

Friday 5/12/2017
SAE Work Day

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. 

-Melody Beattie
 
Monday 5/15/2017
Finalize Bench Project
Wednesday 5/17/2017
Update SAE
Thursday 5/18/2017
Update SAE
Friday 5/19/2017
Final SAE Due
Monday 5/22/2017
Land Lab Summer Prep

Land Lab Summer Prep. All hands on deck

Wednesday 5/24/2017
Hours 4 & 6 Finals
Friday 5/26/2017
Graduation
Wednesday 5/31/2017
FFA State Leadership Conference

Those attending please meet in front of cafeteria at 11:40 am. Bus leaves at 12:00

Friday 8/4/2017
Day 2

BELLWORK: What was your SAE project last year? Explain:

OBJECTIVE: SWBAT read and understand classroom rules and procedures within the course syllabus.

Monday 8/7/2017
Class Intros

BELLWORK: What were your career goals last year? how have they changed this year?

OBJECTIVES: SWBAT create and deliver a min 2 min intro speech to kick off the year

Tuesday 8/8/2017
SAE action plan

BELLWORK: What's one thing you can learn about other people from listening to their presentations

OBJECTIVE: SWBAT Finish min2min presentations

                                 Develop a new or improved action plan for individual SAE projects

Wednesday 8/9/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 8/10/2017
SAE action plan

Bellwork: Why is it important to plan ahead for your SAE's. refer to the game "Building bridges" from Tuesday.

Obj: Continue exploring SAE's and developing SMART goals to further develop and strengthen projects 

Friday 8/11/2017
SAE action plan

Congrats on making it by your first week! Whoop Whoop (TGIF)

BELLWORK: "A goal is a dream with a deadline" -Napoleon Hill

Objective: SWBAT take an in depth look at SAE projects/proficiency awards and develop a plan of action for this year.

Monday 8/14/2017
SMART Goals

Bellwork: Define each letter in S.M.A.R.T Goals

Obj: SWBAT continue building SMART goals for individual SAE projects.

Tuesday 8/15/2017
SAE action plan

Bellwork:

What is a Proficiency Award

Obj: SWBAT review and understand the potentail for awards within the FFA and SAE projects

Wednesday 8/16/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 8/17/2017
Proficiency Award Overview

Bellwork:

-What proficiency award category will your SAE/ SAE's fall under

Obj: SWBAT understand proficiency awards and update AET/ SAE Grants

Wednesday 8/23/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 8/24/2017
External Anatomy of Beef

Bellwork: High quality_________ = high quality___________, will then crate a profitable ____________.

Obj: SWBAT locate & define external anatomy of beef cattle.

Monday 8/28/2017
Beef Cattle

Bellwork: What is the typical age of beef cattle when they go to slaughter 

Obj: SWBAT create educational poster or game to memorize beef external anatomy 

Wednesday 8/30/2017
Land Lab Day

Land Lab Day

Friday 9/1/2017
FFA State Officer Visit
Monday 9/11/2017
Chapter 9

Bellwork: What is the name of a female cow that has not given birth?

Obj: Chapter 9 Beef Cattle Management (read/highlight).

Tuesday 9/12/2017
Chapter 9

Bellwork: What are the two different species of cattle? Brahman Cattle are which species?

Obj: Finish Chapter 9 Review.

Wednesday 9/13/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 9/14/2017
Chapter 9

Bellwork: Name 3 cattle breeds-

Obj: Finish Chapter 9/ Start cattle breed presentation.

Monday 9/18/2017
Cattle Breed

Bellwork: What is the name of a motherless calf?

Obj: Create Cattle Breed Presentation. 

Tuesday 9/19/2017
Cattle Breed

Bellwork: "FFA members, why are we here"... "To practice brotherhood, honor agricultural opportunities and responsibilities, and develop those qualities of leadership which an FFA member should possess."

Obj: Cattle Breed Presentation. 

Wednesday 9/20/2017
Land Lab Day
Thursday 9/21/2017
Cattle Breed

Bellwork: What is your cattle breed and where is it's origin?

Obj: Finish Cattle Breeds Presentation. 

Monday 10/16/2017
Market Hogs

Bellwork:

What was the best part of your fall break

Obj- SWBAT understand the external anatomy of market hogs